This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Phoenix Welcomes New Board Chairman

Returning board member Garret Colao promoted to the new chairman of the Board of Directors.

As we welcome in the New Year, The Phoenix Residence would like to congratulate Garret Colao on his newly-elected position of chairman on the board of directors. Garret joined Phoenix’s board in 2017 after meeting former board member Mary Jo Bailey in an airport of all places! The two instantly connected and after much conversation, Mary Jo suggested Garret joined Phoenix’s Board of Directors because she was retiring soon. The rest, they say, is history!

“I wanted to be a part of the board because I wanted to be a part of something big,” said Garret. After college, Garret spent a  couple of years overseas, then returned here ready to make an impact. “I knew I wanted to be more involved in the community and this position presented itself…and I’m so glad it did.”

Garret said one of his favorite experiences on the board so far has been when he attended the 2019 Disability Services Day at the Capitol. “It was the first time we really got into the trenches,” said Garret. It’s been pretty eye-opening, seeing the impact the services have on the folks.”

As the new Chairman, Garret hopes to maintain what former board chairman Steve Pfeiffer brought to Phoenix and help the organization move closer to accomplishing its goals, particularly with the Close the Gap campaign.

Garret currently resides in Woodbury and is a financial consultant with North Star Resource Group in St. Paul. Before entering the financial world, Garret played professional football in Sweden and Germany for two years. In his spare time, he enjoys golfing and spending time at the cabin.

This year, the Phoenix board welcomed three new members as they said goodbye to two retiring board members.
                                    Retiring board members include:                New board members include:
                                                 Derrick Banks                                                 Elizabeth Johnson
                                                 Steve Pfeiffer                                                  James Woodard
                                                 Jean Schmidt                                                  Sandra Burrowes

Congratulations on your new position Garret!