This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Phoenix President Honored with National Award

This prestigious award honors those who insist on more inclusive services for people with I/DD. Read on to learn all about it!

ANCOR, our national trade association, just announced that our very own President & CEO Darlene Scott was awarded the 2023 Bonnie-Jean Brooks Rising Star  Award! 

ANCOR Announces Recipients of Association's 2023 Excellence in Public Policy Awards

As part of its 2023 Policy Summit, ANCOR will recognize eight individuals who are receiving the association’s 2023 Excellence in Public Policy Awards. The honorees— including seven professionals from the field of community-based intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD) services, as well as The Honorable Margaret Hassan, United States Senator for New Hampshire—will be recognized in a ceremony next week in Washington, DC. 

Senator Margaret Hassan (D-NH) will be recognized next week with the 2023 Congressional Legacy Award. 

The 2023 Suellen Galbraith Award for Excellence in Public Policy will honor Josh Rael, executive director of Alliance in Denver, Colo., as well as Ralph Lollar, who is being honored posthumously. Lollar directed the Division of Long-Term Services & Supports on behalf of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services until his untimely death at the end of 2022.

The recipient of the 2023 Diane McComb State Association Star Award is Laura Howell, executive director for the Maryland Association of Community Services in Columbia, Md. 

The 2023 Bonnie-Jean Brooks Rising Star Award, which honors those who insist on more inclusive services for people with I/DD, will go to Darlene Scott, president and chief executive officer for The Phoenix Residence in St. Paul, Minn., and Cheryl Wicks, vice president of government relations for Omaha, Neb.-based Mosaic.

The two recipients of the 2023 Grassroots Star Award are Laura Cordes, executive director for the Maine Association for Community Service Providers in Hallowell, Maine, and Michael Seereiter, president and chief executive officer for the New York Alliance for Inclusion & Innovation in Albany, N.Y.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees and thank you for your outstanding contributions to disability policy. Read more in today’s press release from ANCOR.

Congratulations to our very own Darlene Scott! We appreciate everything you do!